Coach David Buchanan, the real deal.

David Lee Carpenter
9 min readJun 21, 2022
Titans Head Football Coach David Buchanan stepped down last Thursday. Buchanan was coach for seven seasons at Mercer County Senior High.

This article appeared originally in the 1/27/22 issue of the Harrodsburg Herald

The first time I met David Buchanan was a warm July morning at summer practice. I was familiar with him based on his relationship with others that I knew. I was told coming to Mercer County that Coach Buchanan was constantly authentic, and a coach who truly cared more about his players than he did the scoreboard on Friday nights. Leaving our first interaction, I sent a simple text to a few of those connections, “David Buchanan is the real deal.”

This past Thursday, Jan. 20, via a statement on social media David Buchanan stepped down as the head football coach at Mercer County. In it he wrote, “When Dennis Davis hired me for this position, I absolutely believe I was the right guy for the job and at the right time. That time has passed. Almost every coach has a clock that runs out wherever they are coaching, eventually. Often, coaches stay after their time has run out. The kids and the program suffer when that happens. I love our kids, Titan football, and our community too much to stay too long when a change will benefit our program,” said Buchanan.

Mercer County Senior High School Titan football was birthed into tumult. A surprising merger between Harrodsburg High School and Mercer County High School thrust together a roster who rallied around the…

--

--

David Lee Carpenter

Jesus Follower, Pastor, Football Coach, Boston Sports Fan, Somewhere in that order