Upward and onward: Trosper Buchanan Follows Family Tradition Into Coaching

David Lee Carpenter
3 min readJun 21, 2022

This article appeared originally in the 4/7/22 issue of the Harrodsburg Herald

For Trosper Buchanan coaching is something that he has been around his whole life. Growing up in the home of a coach, he has fond memories of hanging out with the hundreds of players his dad has coached. He remembers observing closely his father, Former Mercer County Titan Football Head Coach David Buchanan, and the relationships he had with the young men that were a part of his football programs.

Coach Trosper Buchanan took time out from basketball practice to share a devotional with his team.

Of course, as is with everything, there were challenges unique to growing up in the home of the head ball coach. Buchanan was faced with certain insecurities. Not knowing if a teacher or classmate might have animosity towards him because of an outcome on the football field is a pressure that he felt much of his life.

In his own home Buchanan had to learn that his Fathers love for him wasn’t conditional on his in game performance, “I thought that if I could score this many baskets or throw this many touchdowns that I could be accepted. But that mentality was short lived when I realized at a young age that my dad wasn’t proud of me for my success in a sport, but rather my character, gratitude, humbleness, integrity, and hard work.”

--

--

David Lee Carpenter

Jesus Follower, Pastor, Football Coach, Boston Sports Fan, Somewhere in that order